## News from Copenhagen

OSCE PA

Number 621

Current Information from the OSCE PA International Secretariat

13 July 2016

## OSCE PA's Bureau elected in Tbilisi for 2016/2017







At the 25th Annual Session last week in Tbilisi, the Parliamentary Assembly elected its leadership for the coming year, including a new President, three new Vice-Presidents, and four new Committee Officers. Several others were re-elected, including Vice-President Vilija Aleknaite Abramikiene (Lithuania), First Committee Chair Roger Wicker (United States), First Committee Rapporteur Margareta Cederfelt (Sweden), Second Committee Rapporteur Marietta Tidei (Italy), and Third Committee Vice-Chair Ivana Dobesova (Czech Republic). Former Second Committee Vice-Chair Nilza Sena (Portugal) was promoted to Chair. The President Emeritus is now Ilkka Kanerva (Finland), who previously served two terms as Assembly President.

The Assembly's new President, Christine Muttonen (Austria), has previously served as OSCE PA Vice-President and Special Representative for Central and Eastern Asia, and is Deputy Head of the Austrian Delegation to the PA. She has been a Member of the Austrian Parliament since 1999 and serves as area spokesperson for the Austrian Social Democratic Parliamentary Group for Foreign Politics.

New Vice-President Isabel Santos (Portugal) previously served three years as Chair of the Third Committee and before that as Vice-Chair. She also serves as Vice-Chair of the PA's Ad Hoc Committee on Migration. In the Portuguese Parliament, Santos is a member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and Portuguese Communities, the Committee on Labour and Social Security, and the Subcommittee on Gender.

Elected Vice-President in Tbilisi, Azay Guliyev (Azerbaijan) previously served for three years as Vice-Chair of the First Committee. Guliyev is the author of his country's law on civic participation, and in parliament serves on the Permanent Committee on State Building and Legislative Policy. He has been a member of Azerbaijan's PA Delegation since 2005.

New Vice-President Victor Paul Dobre (Romania) has been a Member of the Romanian Chamber of Deputies since 2000 and has been on the Romanian Delegation to the OSCE PA since 2009. In his parliament, Dobre serves as Chairman of the Committee on Public Administration and Territorial Planning.

Guglielmo Picchi (Italy) was elected Vice-Chair of the First Committee in Tbilisi. He has served in the Italian Parliament since 2006 and has been on the Italian Delegation to the OSCE PA since 2008. He previously has worked in investment banking and served on the City Council of Florence from 1995 to 1999. He also serves as Vice-Chair of the OSCE PA's Ad Hoc Committee on Migration.

Artur Gerasymov (Ukraine) was elected Vice-Chair of the Second Committee in Tbilisi. Head of the Ukrainian Delegation to the PA, Gerasymov serves in his national parliament as a member of the Committee on National Security and Defence, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Military-Industrial and Military-Technical Co-operation of the Verkhovna Rada Committee for Security and Defense Affairs.

Ignacio Sanchez Amor (Spain) was elected Chair of the Third Committee in Tbilisi. Sanchez Amor is a member of the Spanish Parliament's Foreign Affairs Committee and serves as Head of the Spanish Delegation to the OSCE PA. Since 2012, he has also been the OSCE PA's Special Representative on OSCE Border Issues.

Kyriakos Kyriakou-Hadjiyanni (Cyprus) was elected Rapporteur of the Third Committee in Tbilisi. He has been a Member of the House of Representatives of Cyprus since 2006, where he serves as Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Educational Affairs and Culture. He is also a Member of the Committee on Refugees-Enclaved-Missing-Adversely Affected Persons.

As members of the Bureau, the President, Vice-Presidents, Treasurer, Officers of the three General Committees and President Emeritus are responsible for ensuring that the decisions of the Standing Committee are carried out, with decisions taken by two-thirds majority vote. More information on the Assembly's Bureau is available at www.oscepa.org.

