News from Copenhagen

Number 83

Current Information from the OSCE PA International Secretariat

16 July 2003

<section-header>

OSCE PA President Bruce George opens the 12th Annual Session, held in Rotterdam, 5-9 July. From left to right, Frans Weisglas, President of the Dutch House of Representatives; Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, OSCE Chairman-in-Office; President George; Gerrit Zalm, Dutch Vice-Prime Minister; and Yvonne Timmerman-Buck, President of the Dutch Senate.

The Rotterdam Declaration

The 12th Annual Session closed with the adoption of the Rotterdam Declaration focusing on the political, economic and human rights aspects of "The Role of the OSCE in the New Architecture of Europe". Several additional documents were also adopted, including resolutions on welcoming Afghanistan as a new partner for co-operation, renewing the OSCE partnership, parliamentary follow-up of OSCE activities at the national level, Belarus, OSCE peacekeeping operations, the OSCE Mediterranean Dimension, combating trafficking and exploitation of children, the role of the OSCE towards the greater Europe, combating anti-semitism in the 21st century, Moldova, the International Criminal Court and on the prisoners detained by the United States at the Guantanamo Base. **All documents are available at: www.osce.org/pa.**



Mrs. Geertje Lycklama à Nijeholt, Head of the Dutch delegation to the OSCE PA, presents the 2003 OSCE PA Gender Report to the Assembly.



Voting on the final Declaration, which was overwhelmingly adopted at the end of the Rotterdam Session.

Elections

On the final day of the Annual Session, the Assembly unanimously re-elected Bruce George, the Chair of the Defence Committee of the British House of Commons, as its President for a second one-year term and Treasurer Jerry Grafstein (Canada) for a second two year term. The Assembly elected four new Vice Presidents: Nino Burjanadze (Georgia), Giovanni Kessler (Italy), Tone Tingsgaard (Sweden), and Nevzat Yalcintas (Turkey). Vice President Tone Tingsgaard was appointed by President Bruce George as the new OSCE PA Special Representative on the Gender Issue.

Other Officers elected at the Rotterdam Session:

General Committee on Political Affairs and Security

Chair: Göran Lennmarker (Sweden) Vice-Chair: Panayotis Kammenos (Greece) Rapporteur: Clifford Lincoln (Canada)

General Committee on Political Affairs and Security

Chair: Benjamin Cardin (United States) Vice-Chair: Monika Griefahn (Germany) Rapporteur: Leonid Ivanchenko (Russian Federation)

General Committee on Democracy, Human Rights and Humanitarian Questions

Chair: Elena Mizulina (Russia) Vice-Chair: Svend Robinson (Canada) Rapporteur: Nebahat Albayrak (Netherlands)

For further information please contact: Secretary General R. Spencer Oliver, and Mr. Jan Jooren, Counsellor, Public Affairs, E-mail jan@oscepa.dk, Tel: +45 33 37 80 40, Fax: +45 33 37 80 30.