News from Copenhagen

osce PA

Number 353

Current Information from the OSCE PA International Secretariat

14 July 2010

Efthymiou elected, Oslo Declaration adopted at Annual Session

The 19th Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly ended on 10 July with the adoption of the Oslo Declaration and the election of Petros Efthymiou (Greece) as the Assembly's new President.

Mr. Efthymiou, who was a Vice-President in the Assembly, defeated Senator Consiglio Di Nino (Canada) by 130 votes to 64. The new President succeeds Joao Soares (Portugal) who has served as President for two one-year terms.

In his address to the Assembly upon being elected, Mr. Efthymiou laid out two key priorities of his presidency: one, increasing the effectiveness of the PA's work, "with a balanced

approach to our agenda and a policy of equality towards all participating members," and two, ensuring "a stronger role for the PA itself, with the enhancement of its position, both within the OSCE and in relation to our governments and other international organizations."

The Assembly also elected three new Vice-Presidents in Oslo: Riccardo Migliori (Italy), Alexander Kozlovskiy (Russia) and Oleh Bilorus (Ukraine), while Isabel Pozuelo (Spain) was re-elected.

The Oslo Declaration, available in English, French and Russian at www.oscepa.org, contains the Resolutions and Supplementary Items adopted during the Annual Session in Oslo, which met under the general theme of "Rule of Law: Combating Transnational Crime and Corruption." The resolutions span a wide range of issues, from the situation

in Kyrgyzstan to the Parliamentary Assembly's involvement in the OSCE Corfu Process, the peace process in the Middle East, nuclear security, cybercrime, the situation in the Arctic, investigative journalism, and the death penalty.

Nearly 250 parliamentarians participated in the Session.

The three General Committees of the Assembly also elected new officers for the coming year. In the General

Committee on Political Affairs and Security, Karl-George Wellmann (Germany) was elected Chair, Canan Kalsin (Turkey) Vice-Chair and Tonino Picula (Croatia) Rapporteur.

In the General Committee on Economic Affairs, Science, Technology and Environment, Roland Blum (France) was re-elected Chair, Ivor Callely (Ireland) Vice-Chair and Serhiy Shevchyuk (Ukraine) Rapporteur, and in the General Committee on Democracy, Human Rights and Humanitarian Questions, Walburga Habsburg Douglas (Sweden), Robert Aderholt (USA), and Matteo Mecacci (Italy) were all re-elected as Chair, Vice-Chair and Rapporteur, respectively.











Standing Committee re-elects Secretary General Oliver for five-year term

OSCE PA Secretary General R. Spencer Oliver was overwhelmingly re-elected on day one of the 19th Annual Session as the Assembly's Secretary General for another five-year term.

Mr. Oliver (United States) received more than ninety-five per cent of the votes in the Assembly's Standing Committee after a vigorous debate. In his reports to the Plenary and the Standing Committee, Secretary General Oliver pointed out that the PA had operated within its allotted budget and received a clean audit from certified, state-chartered auditors for the 17th year in a row.

The Standing Committee unanimously approved 35

Supplementary Items for general debate, dealing with a wide range of topics. All Supplementary Items are now included in the Oslo Final Declaration, available at the Assembly's website, www.oscepa.org.

The meeting included a brief report by President Joao Soares, while OSCE PA Treasurer Roberto Battelli reported on the financial health of the Assembly and answered related questions. The 2010-2011 Fiscal Year budget, frozen for a second year, was approved unanimously.

Standing Committee delegates also heard reports from Special Representatives, Ad Hoc Committees, and recent election observation missions.