News from Copenhagen

OSC PA

Number 191 Ca

Current Information from the OSCE PA International Secretariat

10 July 2006

Assembly adopts Brussels Declaration, Göran Lennmarker elected President



At the close of its fifteenth Annual Session, held from 3 to 7 July 2006, the OSCE PA elected Göran Lennmarker of Sweden as its new President, succeeding Alcee L. Hastings of the United States, who continues in the Assembly Bureau as President Emeritus. Parliamentarians from across the OSCE and beyond took part in the Session, during which the Assembly passed the Brussels Declaration with recommendations in the fields of security, economics, environmental affairs and humanitarian issues.

President Lennmarker thanked the Assembly for its support, and vowed to continue working for a strong Parliamentary Assembly within the OSCE.

The Brussels Declaration is focused on the theme of the Session: '*Strengthening Human Security in the OSCE Region*'. In the Declaration, parliamentarians issue both political and technical recommendations on a range of issues. Specifically, the Declaration calls for increased support for OSCE field missions, with a particular focus on the Balkan region, and closer co-operation with other international organizations in this field.

The Parliamentarians also placed particular emphasis on the security of energy sources. They called for increased dialogue between states to ensure reliable supplies of energy. The Assembly also stressed the importance of effective parliamentary oversight of security services.

In the field of election observation, the Assembly urged continued political leadership by parliamentarians, who provide "visibility and credibility" to such missions. In the Declaration, Members also speak out against so-called 'crimes of honour,' and call for legislative action to combat these practices. The Assembly also noted the need for greater attention to the protection of children's rights, and legislative action to combat child pornography.

The Assembly issued a specific call for OSCE states to ensure that their territory is not used to assist rendition flights or to



operate secret detention centres. Recommendations on settling the Transdniestrian conflict in Moldova, on dealing with the consequences of natural disasters, combating corruption, and on anti-Semitism and other forms of intolerance were also issued by the parliamentarians. The Assembly offered strong support to the work of the United Nations in Afghanistan, and recommended further consideration of increased co-operation with representatives of Afghanistan. The Brussels Declaration can be found at: www.oscepa.org.

New Officers elected

Before adjourning, the Assembly also elected four Vice-Presidents to join the Assembly's Bureau:

- Benjamin Cardin (USA)
- João Soares (Portugal)
- Tone Tingsgård (Sweden)
- Wolfgang Grossruck (Austria)

The three General Committees elected the following new Officers for the coming year:

First General Committee on Political Affairs and Security

Chair:	Jean-Charles Gardetto (Monaco)
Vice-Chair:	Hans Raidel (Germany)
Rapporteur:	Kristian Pihl Lorentzen (Denmark)

<u>Second General Committee on Economic Affairs,</u> <u>Science, Technology and Environment</u>

Chair:	Leonid Ivanchenko (Russian Federation)
Vice-Chair:	Petros Efthymiou (Greece)
Rapporteur:	Roland Blum (France)

<u>Third General Committee on Democracy,</u> <u>Human Rights and Humanitarian Questions</u>

Chair:	Anne-Marie Lizin (Belgium)
Vice-Chair:	Cecilia Wigström (Sweden)
Rapporteur:	Jesús López-Medel (Spain)

For further information please contact: Secretary General R. Spencer Oliver, and Andreas Baker, Press Officer, E-mail <u>andreas.baker@oscepa.dk</u>, Tel: +45 33 37 80 40, Fax: +45 33 37 80 30.