The Ad Hoc Committee on Migration issued the report "Ensuring a Coherent, Shared and Responsible Governance of Migration and Refugee Flows" at the 2017 Autumn Meeting in Andorra.

The Committee was established following a unanimous decision taken by the Standing Committee on 25 February 2016 in Vienna. The Committee has been chaired since September 2023 by Vice-President Daniela de Ridder (Germany). Previous Chairs of the Committee include: Filippo Lombardi (Switzerland), Nahima Lanjri (Belgium), Margareta Cederfelt (Sweden), Kristian Vigenin (Bulgaria) and the Rt Hon Mark Pritchard (United Kingdom).

The committee’s full mandate and membership is below.


  • Serve as a focal point for the OSCE PA’s work in the field of migration in all three dimensions of the OSCE: political and security questions; economic issues; and human rights and humanitarian questions; and report back to the President and the Standing Committee;
  • Develop policy recommendations aimed at enhancing OSCE work in the field of migration and at improving the treatment of, and prospects for, migrants in OSCE countries;
  • Promote discussion within the Assembly on issues related to migration, and promote parliamentary exchanges of best practice in these fields;
  • Work closely with the OSCE Secretariat and Institutions as well as with relevant outside actors on issues related to migration to promote the understanding among the members of the Assembly of the importance of the work done in this field.


The Ad Hoc Committee consists of the following members. 


  • Daniela De Ridder (Germany), Chair
  • Lord Alfred Dubs (United Kingdom), Vice-Chair
  • Kyriakos Hadjiyianni (Cyprus), Vice-Chair
  • Farah Karimi (The Netherlands), Vice-Chair
  • Gudrun Kugler (Austria), Vice-Chair
  • Jan Bauer (Czech Republic)
  • Valérie Boyer (France)
  • Johan Buser (Sweden)
  • Hedy Fry (Canada)
  • Sheila Jackson Lee (United States of America)
  • Laurynas Kasciunas (Lithuania)
  • Dimitrios Markopoulos (Greece)
  • Gwen Moore (United States of America)
  • David Stögmüller (Austria)
  • Facebook
  • twir
  • in
  • inst
  • two
  • video